| |


  
|
 |
 |
 |
| |
SPECIAL
NEED RESOURCES
- Addiction
Resource Guide - Covers gambling, alcoholism, eating
disorders and drug problems. Lists and profiles treatment
centers and professionals by state, lists Internet resources
and other information.
- Alcoholics
Anonymous - Official site for AA. Provides resources
for combating addiction to alcohol.
- American
Council of the Blind - Provides links to helpful resources,
online copies of their magazine The Braille Forum, FAQ's
and other information. Also a list of their state chapters,
including the
Badger Association of the Blind which serves Wisconsin.
- American
Foundation for the Blind - Includes an information center
covering blindness and low vision, Helen Keller, and such
issues as advocacy, aging and vision loss, education, employment,
literacy, technology, and web accessibility. There is also
a services database that can be searched by type and location
and provides names, addresses and links.
- Blindness
Related Resources on the Web and Beyond - An index to
sites relating to blindness and other visual impairments.
- Blindness
Resource Center - Links to resources to help the visually
impaired in their everyday lives. Provides option of a large
print format. Maintained by the New York Institute for Special
Education.
- The
Deaf Resource Library - An online collection of reference
material and links intended to educate and inform people
about Deaf cultures in Japan and the United States; as well
as deaf and hard of hearing related topics.
- DisabilityInfo.gov
- The Presidential Task Force on Employment of Adults with
Disabilities created this site to provide one-stop online
access to resources, services, and information available
throughout the Federal government. Includes links for statistics,
civil rights, employment, housing, health, travel and tax
credits.
- LDOnline
- Learning Disabilities Information and Resources -
An interactive guide to learning disabilities for parents,
teachers and children. Includes extensive guides to finding
help and a collection of articles on a variety of related
topics including the Individualized Education Program (I.E.P.).
- MossRehab
ResourceNet - Provided by a hospital acclaimed for its
work with disabled patients. Includes information on the
ADA, accessible travel, links to general resources and fact
sheets for some specific disabilities.
- National
Association of the Deaf - A national organization for
the deaf in the United States.
- National
Federation of the Blind - Services provided by this
organization can be found here.
- National
Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
(NLS) - A division of the Library of Congress, NLS administers
a free library program of Braille and recorded materials
circulated to eligible borrowers by postage-free mail through
a network of cooperating libraries. Includes an address,
phone and e-mail list for the regional libraries.
- Nicotine
Anonymous - Offers tips for gaining freedom from nicotine,
facts about nicotine addiction and its dangers and suggestions
for dippers and chewers.
- Self
Help for Hard of Hearing People - An organization dedicated
to improving the quality of life for those with hearing
loss. Includes information on choosing a hearing aid and
other topics.
- Wisconsin
Association of the Deaf - Provides information on WAD
and its activities
|
| |
Page
updated last on Monday, March 10, 2008.

|
|
|
|
|