| |


  
|
 |
 |
 |
| |
SCIENCE
& TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
General
Science
- Constants
and Equations Page
- An on-going project to list together as many different
constants and equations as possible. It is sponsored by
the Institute of Physics (in Great Britain) and has sections
for general science (including unit conversions), math and
astronomy.
- History
of Science and Ethics Internet Resources - Compiled
by the LSU chemistry library, these cover philosophy and
ethics in science as well as general science history, alchemy,
and science museums with exhibits on-line.
- Mad
Scientist Network - Science questions answered by a
worldwide network of scientists. Allows search by keyword,
includes an archive of FAQ's, a library supplying links
to other information sources, and MAD labs which includes
some science experiments.
- New
Scientist Planet Science - From the publishers of the
magazine New Scientist, which is the British equivalent
of Scientific American. Extensive information from each
issue of the magazine, as well as collections of articles
such as The Rex Files on dinosaurs and The Clone Zone to
answer your questions about cloning.
- NOVA
Online - The latest in science and technology as covered
by the PBS show NOVA. Includes links to related sites and
other resources, such as bibliographies and teachers' guides.
- PSIGate
- Physical Sciences Information Gateway, a hub of the Resource
Discovery Network in the United Kingdom. It aims to provide
access to high quality Internet-based resources in the physical
sciences: astronomy, chemistry, earth sciences, physics,
science history and policy, and aspects of the material
sciences.
- SciCentral:
Gateway to the best Science & Engineering - A gateway
to over 50,000 sites pertaining to over 120 specialties
in science and engineering. Maintained by professional scientists
to identify the most valuable resources online. Extensive
links to "science in the news" and K-12 resources.
- Science
Daily - Current news from the world of science, medicine
and technology. Articles are selected from news releases
submitted by leading universities and other research organizations
around the world. Each is posted in its original form, with
a contact name and link to the organization's home page.
- Science
Fair Web Sites - Presented by the National Student Research
Center, this site lists resources for science fairs and
projects by the following categories: How to Do Student
Research; Research Projects, Topics, Hypotheses and Ideas;
Information Resources for Research Topics; Student Research
Centers On-line; Electronic Journals of Student Research;
and Contests for Student Researches.
- Scientific
American - A great place to begin research on current
hot topics in the world of science like cloning, artificial
intelligence and global warming. Many links to other sources
within the articles, which are taken from current and past
issues of Scientific American magazine. Includes interviews
with prominent scientists.
Mathematics
- Cornell's
Math and Science Gateway
- Provides links to resources in mathematics and science
for educators and students in grades 9-12.
- Math
Forum - Ask Dr. Math - Find solutions to difficult math
problems and puzzles from elementary school to college and
beyond. Includes an FAQ section and allows a word search
of the archives.
- Mathematics
WWW Virtual Library - Links to mathematics-related information.
Most sites for learning math are under education and general
resources, but there are also links for high school servers,
journals, newsgroups, department web
servers and more.
- MathWorld
- An online encyclopedia of mathematics. Entries are sorted
by subject or may be found in an alphabetical index and
include hyperlinked cross-references to other terms.
Astronomy
- Calendars
through the Ages - This gives the history of our year
and days of the week (including the astronomical basis),
examples and explanations of various world calendars (Indian,
Chinese, Jewish, Islamic, etc.) and a timeline of calendar
facts. Allows word search of site.
- HubbleSite
- Provides background on the Hubble telescope, an exhibition
of its contributions to astronomy, the latest news and an
extensive archive of pictures. Produced by the Space Telescope
Science Institutes Office of Public Outreach. Some
of the best images can be found at the Hubble
Heritage Project, also provided by STSI.
- NASA
Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Find information on the
latest space missions as well as extensive picture archives.
Also includes sections on the planets, Earth, the universe
and technology.
- Observatorium
- NASA's public access site for Earth and space data. Information
on past and future space shuttle missions and astronauts.
- Sky
and Telescope Magazine - Find information on upcoming
sky events, reviews of telescopes and other features that
are found in the print version.
- Students
- Space Exploration - This is an excellent resource
for space exploration and astronomy related topics. Includes
information and links for current projects, such as the
Mars Pathfinder mission (including a link to the JPL page
for the project) and other events. It also includes the
"Nine Planets Solar System Tour" which is a good
source for current information and pictures.
- Sunrise
and Moonrise Data - Comprehensive source for sunrise/sunset
and moonrise/moonset times across the country. Includes
civil twilight period and some moon phase information. Allows
you to choose the day, year, state and city desired. Covers
22,000 locations. Provided by the US Naval Observatory which
also supplies Additional
Astronomical Data such as eclipses, asteroids, seasons
and sun and moon positions.
- Windows
to the Universe - Provided by the University of Michigan
and NASA and designed to be an engaging site spanning the
earth and space sciences. You can choose beginner, intermediate
or advanced levels of information. Included are teacher
resources, games and an "Ask the Scientist" section.
Physics
- Aurora
Page - Provides links to information about the Northern
Lights, including sightings, forecasts,
pictures and related sites across the world.
- How
Things Work - Question and answers about the physics
of everyday life presented by a physics professor at the
University of Virginia. You can find information by topic
or by keyword search. No flashy graphics but a lot of content.
- The
Particle Adventure - Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
presents an interactive tour of subatomic particles, antimatter,
dark matter, accelerators and particle detectors. Its design
allows it to be either read like a book or used as a reference
resource.
Chemistry
- Chemdex
Directory of Chemistry on the Internet
- Contains nearly 6000 links to chemically related sites.
The index covers universities, governement agencies, companies
and other subjects as well as general chiemistry sites.
Maintained by University of Sheffield (UK).
- Web
Elements - Reviewed as "one of the oldest and best"
chemistry sites, it provides extensive information on each
chemical element and the periodic table.
Earth
Sciences
- Earthquake
Information
- Current and historical information on earthquakes provided
by the US Geological Survey. Includes articles on earthquake
research and tips on hazards and preparedness.
- Great
Lakes Information Guide - Provides links to information
covering a variety of aspects of the Great Lakes, including
a detailed guide to the Fish
of the Great Lakes, the Great Lakes Forecasting System,
shipwrecks, shipping and the Great Lakes Information Network.
- Mineralogy
Database - Over 5000 pages of description and physical
data for nearly 4000 mineral species along with links to
other sites that describe each specific mineral.
- Mineralogy
of Wisconsin - Compiled by a geology professor at UW
- River Falls, this lists specific minerals and where they
may be found in each Wisconsin county. There is also a county
by county list of minerals found in the state, as well as
a bibliography and a list of special Wisconsin mineral locations.
- Tornado
Project Online - Coverage includes tornado data, myths,
oddities, personal experiences, tornado chasing, tornado
safety, and tornadoes in the past as well as more recent
tornadoes.
- VolcanoWorld
- Obtain information on recent eruptions and volcanoes currently
active worldwide. Very current and includes dates of last
update, pictures, links to other sources on volcanoes. Supported
by NASA.
- Volcanoes
of the United States - Online version of the book published
by the U.S. Geological Survey.
- Volcanoes
- Another online version of a USGS book. This one was authored
by Robert I. Tilling and covers volcano types and structure
as well as plate tectonics and geysers.
- Wind
and Sea - The oceanic and atmospheric science Internet
locator. Over 800 annotated links selected by the National
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Topics include
marine biology, coral reefs and air pollution along with
many other weather and marine related subjects.
- Water
Science for Schools - Provided by the U.S. Geological
Survey, this site covers all aspects of water and water
use. Thorough explanations of terms (such as the hydrologic
cycle) include many hyperlinks to other terms related to
the topic. Includes pictures, maps and an activity center.
- Weather
Information SuperHighway - A great place to find links
to other weather related resources on the web.
Paleontology
- Zoom
Dinosaurs
- A comprehensive on-line hypertext book about dinosaurs
designed for students of all ages. It has an easy-to-use
structure that allows readers to start at a basic level
on each topic, and then to progress to much more advanced
information as desired, simply by clicking on links.
Biological
Sciences
- Biomes
- Includes climate, flora and fauna in these reports, as
well as information on the smaller zones within these biological
areas. There are some hypertext links for basic concepts
within the discussions.
- Biotech
Life Sciences Resources and Reference Tools - Designed
to be both an educational tool and a reference resource
for biology and chemistry. Includes an illustrated dictionary,
a chemical acronyms database and an annotated list of biomedical
resources on the Internet.
- DNA
from the Beginning - An animated primer on the basics
of DNA, genes and heredity. It is organized into 32 concepts
and under each concept is found animation, a picture gallery,
a featured biography and links with a bibliography. Requires
some free plug-ins to run properly.
- Genetic
Science Learning Center - Covers all aspects of genetics
for a variety of audiences. There are separate sections
for students, teachers and families. Topics run from the
pure science to genetic diseases and use of genetics in
society. Even a science project showing how you can extract
DNA right there at home.
- On-Line
Biology Book - A teacher of a freshman level biology
course has constructed this web-based biology text based
on his lecture notes. Includes wonderfully detailed color
illustrations.
- Online
Biology Book
- An index to botanical information available on the Internet
with information for both the scholar and the home gardener.
About 4,000 botany related links are organized into 18 subject
categories
Zoology
- Big
Cats Online - General information on wild cats such
as evolution, conservation and life in the wild. Includes
descriptions and pictures of specific species throughout
the world.
- Endangered
Species Homepage - Up-to-date lists and other information
provided by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Includes
a kid's corner, answers to frequently asked questions, state
lists and links to other resources.
- Fish
of the Great Lakes - Provides a variety of resources
regarding fish in the Great Lakes region including the text
of Fishes of Wisconsin and profiles of the major fish species.
Compiled by the Wisconsin Sea Grant program.
- Internet
Resource Guide for Zoology - Intended to provide a starting
point for finding zoology related information on the Internet.
It is compiled by scientific staff of a subsidiary of BIOSIS,
which produces information products and services for the
life sciences including Biological Abstracts and the Zoological
Record. Very comprehensive.
- Wisconsin
Breeding Bird Atlas - Provides distribution maps and
pictures at various stages of life for birds that breed
in Wisconsin. A project of the Wisconsin Society for Ornithology.
- Wonderful
World of Insects - Information provided for each order.
Many include lists of links, links to photos, and book reviews.
There is also information on classification and anatomy,
a glossary, tips sheets on keeping insects as pets and links
to clubs and societies.
Applied
Science
- Great
Buildings Online
- Provides extensive information on famous buildings worldwide,
including photographs and architectural details as well
as links to information on the architects and a bibliography.
- The
Invention Dimension - Background on inventions and inventors,
both major (the telephone) and minor (Silly Putty). Search
an alphabetical list by name of the inventor or by the invention.
Includes links to other sources.
- How
Stuff Works - Explanations of the workings of the everyday
world including natural phenomena as well as manmade gadgets.
Articles are well writtten and many are accompanied by clear
illustrations and include links to further information.
There is a new article added each week and each weekday
a reader's question is answered.
- National
Inventors Hall of Fame - Biographies, pictures, and
indexes of hundreds ofinventions and inventors.
Unit
Converters
- Online
Conversion - Allows conversions from nearly anything
to something else. Includes categories such as cooking,
clothing and finance as well as the usual physical units
|
| |
Page
updated last on Monday, March 10, 2008.

|
|
|
|
|