| |
READY
REFERENCE RESOURCES
General
- Refdesk.com
- This site provides links to a wide range of resources
with a minimum of annotation. Includes sections called Fast
Facts (375 links), Quick Reference (300 links) and Facts
Encyclopedia (7000 links covering 73 subjects).
- Best
Online Reference Sites - 30 ready reference categories,
some of which are subdivided. All links are annotated and
allow the user to rate their usefullness. A very clean site
which is easy to scan visually and strikes a nice balance
between selectivity and scope of coverage.
- LibrarySpot
- Includes links to online libraries, reference sites,
current events topics and online exhibits. Also links to
lists such as Oprah's picks and Caldecott Medal winners.
Moderately comprehensive but annotations are very brief.
- Librarians'
Index to the Internet - Links point to an extensive
collection with lengthy annotations, a hierarchical organization
and search capability. This was formerly the Berkeley Public
Library Index to the Internet.
- Best
Information on the Net - Provides annotated links for
an alphabetical list of topics. Sites are chosen by the
O'Keefe Library of St. Ambrose University. Also has resources
by major, for the disabled, for students, for librarians,
hot topics and online reference sources. Site does not support
keyword searches.
- Booksandinformation.com
Reference Desk - This site focuses on the type of information
you might find in a small rural library. It includes links
to sites about grants, scholarships, biographies, literary
criticism, magazine/journal articles, term paper sources,
directories to find people/businesses and the like.
Free Online Reference Works
- The
Glossarist - A comprehensive directory of glossaries
(subject dictionaries) on all subjects. You can perform
a word search to locate an appropriate glossary but you
can only use one glossary at a time - it does not perform
simultaneous searches of multiple sources.
- OneLook
Dictionary Search - Offers access to hundreds of general
and specialized dictionaries. It will search for your word
on the Internet and then provide links to its listing within
the dictionaries indexed as well as a link to the dictionary's
home page. A variety of languages can be chosen or you can
choose the translate option. Links are provided to additional
dictionary sites not indexed here.
- Reference
at Bartleby.com - A searchable mix of old classic works
(such as the 1919 edition of Bartlett's Quotations and a
1918 version of Gray's Anatomy) and newer sources (year
2000 editions of the World Factbook and the Columbia Encyclopedia).
Search all at once or choose a particular work.
- YourDictionary
- Allows quick lookup of word in a dictionary or thesaurus
and permits use of wildcards to find words you cannot spell.
Links to dictionaries for other languages and other word
related resources including FAQs, rhyming and other specialty
dictionaries, and grammar guides.
The following are maintained
by Academic Institutions and are geared more toward Scholarly
Needs
- Son of Citation
Machine - Citation Machine is an interactive web tool
designed to assist high school, college, and university
students, their teachers, and independent researchers in
their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
- Martindale's
The Reference Desk - Provides a vast collection that
is particularly strong in science, medicine, weather and
Internet resources.
- InfoMine:
Scholarly Internet Resource Collections - Links to over
20,000 academically valuable resources. Allows basic or
advanced search of the site. There is also a subject index
and a search may be restricted to a particular subject area.
- Indiana
Un. at Bloomington Libraries Internet Quick Ref. - Composed
of 21 well chosen categories. The site is searchable and
includes a link allowing reorganization in category outline
form, similar to a table of contents.
- Academic
Info - A gateway to college and research level resources.
About 250 to 500 new sites are added each month and given
in a separate list. Allows browsing by subject or keyword
searches.
- Quick
Reference - UT Library Online - Located at the University
of Texas, this site presents a good list of minimally annotated
links organized by both subject and title.
- UCSD
Libraries Reference Desk - Well-designed and accessible,
this site targets basic reference with barely annotated
resources listed in 18 categories.
|