| |


  
|
 |
 |
 |
| |
HOME
& GARDEN RESOURCES
General
- Better
Homes and Gardens
- Includes articles similar to those found in the magazine,
as well as reference resources such as a how-to encyclopedia,
a kitchen planner and a plant guide.
- Martha
Stewart - Home page for the popular home and garden
expert. Includes information on cooking, gardening, shopping,
crafts, holidays, weddings and babies.
Food
- Betty
Crocker
- Offers thousands of main dishes, side dishes and desserts
as well as party planning suggestions.
- Butterball
Turkey - Everything you need to know about preparing
turkey, including planning, thawing, cooking, recipes, garnishing,
carving and stuffing. Includes answers to the top 10 questions
to their talk line.
- Chocolate
Lovers' Page - A database of over 770 web sites about
chocolate from across the world.
- Cook's
Thesaurus - A cooking encyclopedia that covers thousands
of ingredients and kitchen tools. Entries include pictures,
descriptions, synonyms, pronunciations, and suggested substitutions.
- Cyber
Kitchen - Directory of sites for a wide variety of food
related information.
- Internet
Food Channel - Daily news about food trends and information
on the Internet with links to food related sites and products.
- Epicurious
- Covers all aspects of food and drink with a database of
over 5,000 recipes, recipes for over 250 cocktails, and
online editions of Bon Appetit and Gourmet.
- Food
Timeline - The history of food is presented in timeline
form with the names of food products connected by links
to articles about their origins. On the right side of the
line are links to recipes. There are also links to a culinary
history timeline and to parent/teacher resources which include
a section on real people vs. brand names.
- Global
Gourmet - An online magazine covering food and wine.
Weekly features include cookbook profiles, web site reviews,
and a wine section. There is an archive of previous issues
and recent recipes.
- Kitchen
Link - Index to food and cooking related information
published in newspapers, magazines, trade publications and
online sites, as well as a source of recipes. Offers a message
board and search service.
- USDA
Nutrient Database - Provides extensive listing of nutrients
for a wide range of foods. Includes energy, carbohydrates,
fiber, vitamins. minerals, lipids and amino acids. Allows
search by keyword.
- Veggie's
Unite - Educational information for vegetarians including
recipes, chat groups and news.
- A
World of Tea - The Stash Tea Company's site includes
tea history, news in the world of tea, their catalog, tea
recipes, and a bed & breakfast guide for the U.S. and
Canada.
Recipes
- All
Recipes
- A large archive of recipes of all types which can be listed
alpahabetically or by category and can be searched by keyword.
The recipes are rated by users and provide nutrition information.
- Arielle's
Recipe Archives - Recipes hand selected from the popular
Usenet newsgroup rec.food.recipes.
- Fat
Free: The Low Fat Vegetarian Recipe Archive - Contains
thousands of fat free and very low fat vegetarian recipes
with information from the USDA Nutrient Database and links
to related sites.
- Recipe
Source - Features over 70, 000 recipes from a variety
of sources. You can search by keyword or browse lists arranged
by type of dish and special diets or by geographical region
and ethnic group. Formerly called Searchable Online Archive
of Recipes.
- VegSource
- Provides links to over 10, 000 meatless dishes arranged
by category.
Gardening
- All
About Lawns
- Covers all aspects of lawn care from mowers to watering,
planting, fertilizing and diseases.
- The
Garden Gate - Offers gardeners and nature lovers a carefully
selected and well organized collection of links to informative
horticulture sites around the world.
- Garden
Guides - Guides providing descriptions, pictures and
care for herbs, flowers, and vegetables as well as feature
articles, tips and techniques, recipes, links to gardening
catalogs and more.
- Gardening
Launch Pad - A collection of over 4000 links, 95% of
which are noncommercial, with new links added every week.
Over 64 different categories are listed.
- Lawn
Talk - Presented by the University of Illinois Extension.
There are 30 fact sheets on lawn care written by one of
their horticultural educators, as well as a lawn Q and A
section.
- National
Gardening Association - Includes a searchable Q and
A and library of articles on plant care and , a horticultural
dictionary, feature articles (such as on feeding birds),
regional reports and gardening with kids among it's many
features. A nicely arranged site with a lot of useful information.
- Plant
Facts - Ohio State University - Search by keyword and
region for guides answering plant-related questions from
46 different universities and government institutions across
the U.S. and Canada. Over 20,000 pages of Extension fact
sheets and bulletins provide a concentrated source of plant-related
information.
- University
of Wisconsin Extension Urban Horticulture - Provides
a wide range of horticultural information for Wisconsin
and gives answers to common problems. Departments include
pests, turf, landscape, flowers, fruits and vegetables,
urban horticulture updates and links to other sites.
Family
- The
ABC's of Parenting
- A comprehensive directory providing reviews and ratings
of the best websites of interest to families and parents-to-be.
- Adoption
in Wisconsin - A comprehensive source of information
about adoption in Wisconsin, including adoption by relatives,
by stepparents, adoption of children with special needs,
adoption agencies and post-adoption services such as doing
an adoption records search.
- Adoption.com
- Provides a vast array of resources for all aspects of
adoption. There is help for unplanned pregnancies, information
for international and stepparent adoptions, resources for
searching for a birth family and a library.
- KidSource
Online - A vast collection of articles on child rearing
as well as recall notices and health and safety tips.
Home
Maintenance
- Home
Maintenance and Repair
- Full text articles on topics of home maintenance and repair
provided by the Michigan State University Extension. Subjects
are listed alphabetically but you can also search by keyword.
- Homestore.com
- Many detailed articles to help in repairing, maintaining
and decorating the home and its surroundings. Subject areas
include home improvement, decorating, remodeling, lawn &
garden, entertaining, sewing ideas, real estate, and smart
savings. Formerly HouseNet.
- Old
House Journal Online - Includes a restoration directory
for products and services for homes built before 1950 and
newer homes built in the traditional manner. Also historic
house plans and information on new products, bulletin boards,
classifieds and other features. (This site thwarts use of
the back button.)
- Old
House Web - Ideas, advice and community for old house
enthusiasts. Addresses home repair and restoration problems
unique to old homes. Includes floor plans for Victorian,
Colonial and other types of houses.
Household
- FabricLink
- Educational resource for fabrics, apparel, home furnishings
and care. Includes a stain removal guide, dictionary of
fabric terms and explanations of the symbols on the back
of care labels.
|
| |
Page
updated last on Monday, March 10, 2008.

|
|
|
|
|