| |


  
|
 |
 |
 |
| |
HISTORY
RESOURCES
- American
and British History Resources on the Internet
- A reference guide to history sites on the Internet prepared
by the Rugers University Libraries. Sites are divided into
reference resources, archival and manuscript guides, general
history portals, sites organized by subject or by period,
full text documents by period and history associations.
- American
Civil War Home Page - An extensive set of links to Civil
War information, including biographical information, images,
rosters and regimental histories and state by state listings.
Compiled by the University of Tennessee.
- American
Cultural History: the 20th Century - A series of web
guides on the decades of the twentieth century prepared
by reference librarians at Kingwood College (Texas). It
is divided into sections according to decade and outlines
the major events, important persons, and cultural trends
of each decade, while linking users to related Websites
and print materials.
- American
Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital
Library - A gateway to primary source materials relating
to the history and culture of the United States. The site
offers more than 5 million items from more than 90 historical
collections in the Library of Congress. Includes photographs,
old manuscripts and maps, early films and sound recordings,
the complete papers of Abraham Lincoln and Thomas Jefferson
and more.
- America's
War Against Terrorism - This collection of sites assembled
by the University of Michigan Documents Center includes
information on relief groups, federal agencies, suspects,
terrorism, war preparations and countries in the news.
- Battlefield:
Vietnam - This PBS site gives a short history of the
war, a timeline, a discusion of guerrilla tactics, the airwar
and links to other web resources.
- Civil
War Generals - An index to generals who fought on both
sides of the U.S. Civil War. Entries include dates of birth
and death, prewar and postwar professions, a concise description
of their war service and when available a bibliography and
links to other web sites. Home page has links to sites with
photographs and one listing burial places.
- Discoverers
Web - Provides links to web sites containing information
on voyages of discovery and exploration. Sites are sorted
by time period for ancient times and then by country of
origin for later explorers. There is also a list by name,
special pages for the Vikings, Columbus and Cook, and some
general articles.
- Encyclopedia
Mythica - Covers mythology, folklore and legend across
the world. There is a subject list by nation or area, and
then a full index of articles is listed on the left side
under each subject. Also includes an image gallery and genealogy
tables.
- The
History Buff - Devoted to press coverage of a wide array
of events from the 16th to 20th century. Articles are arranged
by topic.
- History
Timelines on the Web - A nice site that allows you to
link to other sites relating to both American and world
history. Categories include geographical regions, time periods,
and a variety of subjects while a list of featured topics
covers significant events in U.S. history and World War
II year-by-year.
- HistoryNet
- A great starting place for all kinds of events throughout
history. it includes links to other pages as well as several
on-line history periodicals.
- Hot
Topics: Terrorist Attacks on the U.S., September 11, 2001
- A gallery of maps and photographs plus links to news and
government information compiled by the Evergreen State College.
- HyperWar:
A Hypertext History of the Second World War - A compilation
of mainly government texts including the official complete
naval chronology and similar documents. Emphasis is on the
military aspects.
- Maritime
History on the Internet - A guide to methods and sites
for doing maritime history research on the internet. A comprehensive
resource which includes ships with web pages, an index to
ships in books and links for museums, literature, music,
education, nautical archeology and modern sailing.
- Rulers
- Contains lists of heads of state and heads of government
of all countries and territories going back to 1800.
- Seven
Wonders of the Ancient World - Presents drawings, history
and descriptions of each wonder, plus information on forgotten,
modern and natural wonders, links to other sources and a
list of frequently asked questions.
- 20th
Century Year by Year - Lists world and U.S. events,
economic statistics, sporting championships, entertainment
events and scientific breakthroughs for each year from 1900
into the early 21st century. These include hyperlinks to
more detailed information. Also includes decade reviews,
timelines and lists for the best in entertainment, worst
disasters and sporting information. A great resource for
planning reunions and anniversaries but includes many pop-up
ads.
- Wisconsin
Electronic Reader - The Wisconsin Electronic Reader
is an electronic database, developed by the General Library
System of UW-Madison and the State Historical Society, of
many first hand accounts including stories, essays, letters,
poems, biographies, journals and tidbits from Wisconsin
history. It is profusely illustrated, and covers the period
of ancient settlements to the early 20th century.
|
| |
Page
updated last on Monday, March 10, 2008.

|
|
|
|
|