| |
HEALTH
AND MEDICAL RESOURCES
General
Information
- Consumer
and Patient Health Information (CAPHIS) - "Web
sites you can trust" as chosen by CAPHIS, which is
part of the Medical Library Association. Categories include
men's health, women's health, senior sites, parenting and
children, and drug info.
- Centers
for Disease Control and Prevention - The CDC serves
as the national focus for developing and applying disease
prevention and control for the U.S. Here you can find data
and statistics, fact sheets on various health topics, travelers
information and recent health news.
- Doctors
Guide to the Internet - Provides news and other information
aimed at the professional. Includes a guide to medical resources
on the Web.
- Hardin
Meta Directory of Internet Health Resources - The Hardin
Library for the Health Sciences at the University of Iowa
provides a large index to health sites.
- Health
and Age - Information on medicine and healthy living
for seniors provided by the Novartis Foundation for Gerontology.
Includes general health news, a disease digest, an "ask
the doctor" feature and a drug database. Also links
to an area designed for health professionals.
- HealthAtoZ
- A site geared for families than not only provides medical
information but also articles to help you maintain a healthy
lifestyle. Articles are fairly detailed yet still easy to
read.
- Healthfinder
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services site provides
a gateway to online health information. An excellent source
for basic information on diseases and health problems, and
links to more detailed resources.
- HealthWeb
- Provides links to specific, evaluated information resources
on the World-Wide Web selected by librarians and information
professionals at leading academic medical centers in the
Midwest. Selection emphasizes quality information aimed
at assisting health care professionals as well as consumers
in meeting their health information needs.
- InteliHealth
- General health information. Includes a drug database and
a Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary. InteliHealth is a
subsidiary of Aetna U.S. Healthcare.
- KidsHealth
for Parents - Provides easy access to health information
pertaining to children. Subjects covered by articles include
general health, infections, emotions and behaviour, medical
problems and first aid. Related articles and additional
resources are also given with each essay. Maintained by
the Nemours Foundation which is devoted to children's health.
- Mayo
Clinic Health and Medical Information - Mayo Clinic
provides a gateway to links and Clinic publications for
health and medical information for the layperson.
- Medical
College of Wisconsin (MCW) HealthLink - Produced in
Milwaukee by the Medical College of Wisconsin, this site
provides 1,400 full-text articles on a wide range of health
topics and reports on current research activities of the
physicians at the medical college. Includes archive of the
"Dear Dr. Becky" column which appears biweekly
in the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.
- MedicineNet
- Provides information on diseases, tests, medications and
much more. Allows keyword searches and includes a medical
dictionary with hyperlinked cross-references, current health
news and product recalls.
- MEDLINEplus
- Organized, reviewed and maintained by health science librarians
and designed to provide one-stop shopping for consumer health
information. Includes full text information and prepackaged
Medline searches by topic and for clinical trials which
will point to those that are recruiting or about to recruit.
- National
Women's Health Information Center - Information provided
by the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services - Office
on Women's Health.
- Quack
Watch - This site is dedicated to exposing health fraud
and to aid people in making informed decisions regarding
medical claims for products and procedures.
- Women's
Health - New York Times site provides health information
for women. Also includes a search engine.
- YourSurgery.com
- Describes surgical procedures including anatomy and physiology
(with pictures and illustrations), the examination, tests
that are performed, indications for the surgery, alternative
solutions, the procedure itself, a list of possible complications,
a rundown of the postoperative care and innovations in the
technique.
Reference
- Medicare
- The official U.S. Government Site for Medicare information.
Includes news and updates, a comparison of nursing homes,
answers to frequently asked questions, a directory of participating
physicians and helpful contacts.
- Merck
Manuals - Online versions of The Merck Manual of Medical
Information--Home Edition, The Merck Manual of Geriatrics,
and The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy. These not
only include the full contents but also any corrections
made since they were printed. You can view them through
a table of contents or by a word search.
- National
Library of Medicine - Official site of the world's largest
medical library. Includes links to resources such as MEDLINE
which was created by the NLM, and to ClinicalTrials.gov
with information for patients about research studies in
progress.
- On-line
Medical Dictionary - A searchable dictionary containing
terms relating to biochemistry, cell biology, chemistry,
medicine, molecular biology, physics, plant biology, radiobiology,
science and technology. Distributed by CancerWEB under license
from Academic Medical Publishing.
Organizations
and Specific Topics
- American
Cancer Society
- This official site provides extensive information on prevention
and treatment of cancer.
- American
Heart Association - Home page for the AHA. Includes
basic information about heart disease and related subjects
such as cholesterol and triglycerides.
- American
Medical Association - Official site for the AMA.
- CancerOption.com
- A well organized site with separate sections for various
forms of cancer. Each section covers research, stages, treatment
options, complementary therapies and links to additional
sources. There is also information on clinical trials and
support groups. New articles are posted nearly every day.
- Epilepsy
Foundation - Covers all aspects of epilepsy from the
medical aspects to legal issues and advocacy groups. Includes
information on clinical trials seeking volunteers.
- Heart
Center Online - This company was founded specifically
to provide high quality cardiovascular information on the
Internet to both doctors and patients, each having their
own section on this site. There are topical patient guides,
tips on nutrition, an "ask the cardiologist" feature,
information on clinical trials, sections for diseases, tests
and specialties and much more.
- Heart
Information Network - Provided by the Center for Cardiovascular
Education. An independent, educational Web site that provides
a wide range of information and services for heart patients
and others interested in learning about lowering risk factors
for heart disease.
- National
Cancer Institute - Includes facts about cancer and resources
for scientists as well as information about the NCI.
- OncoLink:
University of Pennsylvania Cancer Center - Founded in
1994 by Penn cancer specialists, this site provides comprehensive
information about specific types of cancer, updates on cancer
treatments and news about research advances. Updated daily.
Information provided at various levels, from introductory
to in-depth.
Drugs
- FDA
Drug Approvals List
- Lists drugs recently approved by the FDA. Updated weekly.
- HealthTouch
Drug Information - Lists drugs by name but also allows
a name search. Other areas of this site provide broader
based health information
- MEDLINEplus:
Drug Information - Taps information provided by DrugMaster
(a product of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists)
and USP DI (a product of the United State Pharmacopeia).
This covers both prescription and over-the-counter medicines.
- RxList
- The Internet Drug Index - Includes a search function
to find drug information. Provides very complete descriptions
in layperson's terms. Other features are a medical dictionary,
a list of the "top 200" drugs prescribed and a
section on alternative medicines.
- USP
(United States Pharmacopeia) - USP establishes state-of-the-art
standards to ensure the quality of medicines for human and
veterinary use. USP also develops authoritative information
about the appropriate use of medicines.
Doctors
- AMA
Online Doctor Finder
- A database maintained by the American Medical Association.
Search for information about your physician. Locate medical
specialists in your area.
- ABMS
Board Certified Doctors - Home page for the American
Board of Medical Specialties public education program. Features
include ability to verify a doctor's board certification,
a certified doctor locator and an explanation of certification.
- HealthGrades
- Provides ratings of doctors and hospitals and lists doctors'
professional histories.
- Mental
Health
- American
Psychological Association's Help Center
- Provides a number of articles on different aspects of
mental health, such as dealing with illness, family problems
and stress.
- Center
for Mental Health Services (CMHS) Knowledge Exchange Network
- The CMHS is a component of the U.S. Department of Health
and Human Services. It leads Federal efforts to treat mental
illnesses by promoting mental health and by preventing the
development or worsening of mental illness when possible.
- Internet
Mental Health - An encyclopedia of free mental health
information. Includes sections on disorders, treatment,
research, diagnosis and medications. Also a mental health
magazine and links to other sites.
- Mental
Help Net - A CMHC System guide to mental health, psychology,
and psychiatry online, currently listing over 7,000 individual
resources.
- Mental
Health InfoSource - Maintained by Continuing Medical
Education, Inc. which provides clinical information to physicians,
psychiatrists, patients and caregivers. Choose from an A-Z
list of disorders and find articles, FAQ's, and links to
pertinent web sites.
- Psych
Central: Dr. John Grohol's Mental Health Page - An annotated
guide to the most useful Websites, newsgroups, and mailing
lists online today in mental health, psychology, social
work, and psychiatry.
Alternative
Medicine
- Alternative
Health News Online
- Attempts to supply links to some of the more informative
and credible sites available. Includes a substantial number
of convential health sites and sites that are updated daily
and weekly.
- The
Alternative Medicine Homepage - A jumpstation for sources
of information on unconventional, unorthodox, unproven,
or alternative, complementary, innovative, integrative therapies.
Categories include government resources and practitioners'
directories.
- HealthWorld
- Alternative Medicine Center - A menu based source
of articles concerning alternative therapies and systems
and a wide range of health conditions. Also allows a word
search. Go the home page to find more general health information.
- HerbMed
- An interactive herbal database providing hyperlinked
access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs
for health. It draws some information from Pubmed. A project
of the Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc.
- National
Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine -
NCCAM at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) conducts
and supports basic and applied research and training and
disseminates information on complementary and alternative
medicine to practitioners and the public.
- Richard
and Hinda Rosenthal Center for Complementary and Alternative
Medicine - The Rosenthal Center is one of 13 specialty
research centers at major medical schools funded by the
National Institutes of Health to study complementary and
alternative therapies. This includes information for professional
and lay users and a special page for cancer treatments.
- WholeHealthMD
- Very nicely arranged and accessible source of complementary
and alternative medical and health information developed
by a team of board-certified doctors and specialists. Includes
recipes, expert opinions, a reference library and news.
|