| |


  
|
 |
 |
 |
| |
GOVERNMENT
RESOURCES
All
Levels
- National
Contact Center of the Federal Consumer Information Center
- Provides comprehensive coverage of Federal, State and
Local government web sites. (Formerly called Government
Information Exchange).
- University
of Michigan Documents Center - Extensive groupings of
links to government information ranging from local to international.
A good source for government documents connected with major
news stories.
- Google
Government - This is the Google search engine but results
are restricted to sites related to federal and state government.
- Public
Record Locator - Search Systems - An aid in finding
public records on the Web. Browse the alphabetical list
for national sites or by state. All are marked free or pay
(most are free) and many will give descriptions of the site.
You may also conduct a simple or advanced word search. Useful
for finding links to court records, sex offender listings,
licenses, corporate reports and the like.
Federal
Directories
- Federal
Web Locator -
A very comprehensive list of links to federal agencies.
It's intended to be the one stop shopping point for federal
government information on the WWW.
- Government
Information Sources - Provides alphabetical lists of
links for categories such as government reference sites,
major agencies, executive, judicial and legislative branches,
and historic government document.
- U.S.
Government Blue Pages Online Directory - Permits access
to published federal blue pages for many U.S. cities. Also
links to "America Anywhere", listing toll free
and other customer service federal government numbers arranged
by type of service rather than organization.
- United
States Government Manual - Provides descriptions of
each department of the federal government, as well as names
of directors, addresses and phone numbers. Information is
provided in both text and PDF format. This is an online
version of the print source.
General
Sites
- Federal
Register Office
- The Federal Register is a daily report of administrative
rulings, presidential documents, proposed rules and notices.
(Final rules and regulations and presidential executive
orders are incorporated into the Code of Federal Regulations).
Here you can link to the Federal Register, the CFR, the
U.S. Government Manual, a weekly compilation of presidential
documents and public papers of the presidents.
- FedWorld
- Search for 420,000 U.S Government reports and documents.
. Links to other federal sites. Site is maintained by the
National Technical Information Service.
- FirstGov
- Dubbed as the "official website for searching the
U.S. Government", this was designed by the federal
government to aid citizens in finding agencies and information.
It blends search engine capabilities with agency lists.
- How
to Effectively Locate Federal Government Information on
the Web - Although designed as a hands-on workshop by
a pair of Univ. of California librarians, it includes a
large number of links in areas such as law and statistics.
- THOMAS:
U.S. Government on the Internet - A comprehensive guide
to Congress and congressional bills maintained by the Library
of Congress. You can search and find bill summaries back
to 1973 and full texts back to 1989. Provides extensive
information on current legislation and directories of House
and Senate members. Very easy to use.
- U.S.
Legal Code - Allows a search of the code by keywords
or by title and section number.
Selected
Specific Agencies
- Copyright
Office
- Provides forms, information circulars and regulations.
- Government
Printing Office - Basic information including an online
book store.
- Immigration
and Naturalization Service - Includes an extensive list
of forms that can be downloaded in Adobe and printed, as
well as a comprehensive list of frequently asked questions
and information concerning all of the INS field offices.
- Medicare
- The official U.S. Government Site for Medicare information.
Includes news and updates, a comparison of nursing homes,
answers to frequently asked questions, a directory of participating
physicians and helpful contacts.
- Patent
and Trademark Office - This official government site
provides printable forms and searchable databases - including
a trademark electronic search system.
- Social
Security Online - Includes news and online copies of
publications.
- United
States Postal Service - Official site for the Post Office.Includes
information on zip codes and rates, local post office locations
and phone numbers.
- The
White House - Official web site for the president and
vice president as well as an information source for White
House tours and history.
State
and Local
Foreign
Consulates
and Embassies
- Foreign
Consular Offices in the U.S.
- A complete and official listing of the foreign consular
offices in the U.S., and recognized consular officers. Arranged
by state and city. An online edition of the print source
compiled by the U.S. Department of State.
- Bureau
of Consular Affairs - Describes services available to
Americans abroad, provides access to State Dept. travel
warnings and consular information sheets, and links to U.S.
embassies and consulates worldwide.
- EmbassyWorld
- Allows you to find any countries embassy in any other
country. Or find a list of a nation's embassies, a listing
of US embassies worldwide or a list of other nations embassies
in the US. It also provides calling codes, links to foreign
phone books and an international voltage directory.
General
Sites
- Governments
on the Web
- An access point for information on foreign governments.
Contains more than 9,000 from 205 countries and territories.
Includes data on embassies, central banks, parliaments,
ministries and law courts. Very comprehensive.
- InfoNation
(United Nations) - Provides customized statistical tables
based on United Nations databases of 185 nations in 37 subjects,
including geography, economy, population, and social indicators.
Can be used to compare countries.
- United
Nations - Maintained by the United Nations Department
of Public Information.
Politics
and Leaders
- Political
Resources on the Net
- A comprehensive directory of political sites available
internationally on the Web. Searchable and sorted by country,
includes political parties, systems, documents, elections,
media and organizations.
- World
Political Leaders, 1945-2001 - Lists political leaders
with their titles and parties back to 1945.
|
| |
Page
updated last on Monday, March 10, 2008.

|
|
|
|
|