| |


  
|
 |
 |
 |
| |
GENEALOGY
RESOURCES
- Cyndi's
List of Genealogy Sites
- Comprehensive index to genealogy sites, organized by subject.
- Ellis
Island - Immigration History Center - Allows name search
for passengers who came to America through Ellis Island
between 1892 and 1924. Free registration is required to
view the full passenger records but site will then keep
a record of your searches.
- Family
Search Internet Genealogy Service - Family history records
collected and indexed by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day
Saints.
- Federation
of East European Family History Societies (FEEFHS) -
A portal for answering many questions relating to Central
(German, Swiss) and East European genealogy.
- Genealogy
Exchange and Surname Registry - A genealogical data
exchange where visitors and researchers alike can go to
find specific persons, and exchange specific data with one
another.
- Genealogy
Home Page - Provides links to genealogy sites sorted
by category. Subjects include help and guides, religious
resources, family/personal pages and other Internet guides.
- Genealogy
Today - Includes reviews of genealogy search engines,
a site of the day and a question and answer section. Provides
detailed reviews of genealogy software and advice on planning
family reunions, as well as articles on topics such as searching
for birth parents and using the National Archives.
- Genealogy
Wisconsin - Wisconsin related genealogy.
- Genealogy.com
- A good all-purpose site with emphasis on the novice. There
is a glossary of terms, links to other Web sites and a question
and answer section.
- Geneanet
- Focuses on genealogical lines of European descent. Includes
links to specialized U.S. and European sites such as the
Kansas Pioneers Project or 1801 Norwegian census.
- General
Land Office - Bureau of Land Management - Offers researchers
a source of information on the initial transfer of land
titles from the Federal government to individuals. In addition
to verifying title transfer, this allows the researcher
to associate an individual (Patentee, Assignee, Warrantee,
Widow, or Heir) with a specific location (Legal Land Description)
in time (Signature date).
- Heraldica
- This site contains a variety of information on heraldry
(coats of arms) and related topics, in the form of texts,
images and links. It is organized into articles, collected
by themes.
- Online
Genealogical Database Index - Contains links to all
known genealogical databases searchable through the Web.
It is limited to searchable databases and does not include
links to sites devoted to a family unless a database is
available for searching.
- Rootsweb
- One of the largest genealogical sites. It both provides
information and serves as a portal to other tools and databases.
- Social
Security Death Index - Rootsweb lets you search the
Social Security Death Index.
- Soundex
Converter (Rootsweb) - Just enter a name and this will
provide the Soundex equivalent.
- State
Historical Society of Wisconsin Library - Official site.
Allows search of their catalog.
- U.S.
GenWeb Project - "We are a group of volunteers
working together to provide Internet websites for genealogical
research in every county and every state of the United States.
This Project is non-commercial and fully committed to free
access for everyone." Includes a link to the WorldGenWeb
Project which attempts to cover every country in the
world.
- United
States Vital Records Information - Directory of national,
state, and county offices to contact for vital records.
- Wisconsin
Vital Records - Application forms for receiving copies
of birth, marriage, divorce, and death certificates.
|
| |
Page
updated last on Monday, March 10, 2008.

|
|
|
|
|