| |
BOOK
RESOURCES
Book
Sellers
Book
News, Reviews and Information
- Award
Web
- Provides lists of literary awards with the emphasis on
science fiction.
- Based
on the Book - A compilation of over 700 books, short
stories and plays that have been made into movies dating
back to 1980. Provides lists by movie title, movie release
date, book title and book author. Compiled by Mid-Continent
Public Library.
- Book
Page - News and reviews of new and upcoming books.
- Book
Web - Official site of the American Booksellers Association.
Covers news and issues in the publishing industry.
- BookHive
- Reviews of children's books from the Public Library of
Charlotte and Mecklenburg County.
- BookWire
- Includes book industry news, a comprehensive guide to
author tours, features, reviews, guides to literary events,
author interviews and links to other book-related sites.
- FictionDB
- Provides information on books and authors, sorted by genre.
As of May 2002, genres covered included mysteries, suspense,
romances and westerns, while the area for speculative fiction
was under construction. Includes lists of new releases,
reviews, series lists, pseudonyms and links to other author,
publisher and reader sites.
- International
Standard Book Number (ISBN/SAN) - Provided by R.R. Bowker
which is the independent agent for this system in the U.S.
Includes detailed information about the ISBN numbering system
and how to apply for one.
- National
Book Awards - Lists past winners, guidelines for entries
and provides information on the National Book Foundation.
- 150
Bestselling Books - USA Today's list of the top 150
bestsellers, updated weekly. Includes, fiction and nonfiction,
hardcovers and paperbacks. A brief description is provided
and reviews are found for some of the top books.
- Oprah's
Book Club - From Oprah's official web site. Lists the
most current selection as well as all of her past selections
and discussions.
- Publisher's
Weekly - Online version of the magazine.
Mysteries
- The
Gumshoe Site
- Includes news in the world of mysteries, award information,
and links to authors and organizations.
- Mysterious
Home Page - Lists links not only for authors and published
works but also for TV, films and games. Includes an index
which allows a word search.
- The
Mystery Reader - News and views of the latest books
as well as links to authors and other information.
Science
Fiction and Fantasy
- SF
Site
- Includes a large number of reviews as well as author biographies
and interviews, awards and links to related sites. Emphasis
is on books but also covers some audio books and TV shows.
- Hugo
Award Winners - The Hugo and the Nebula are the two
biggest awards for science fiction and fantasy. This provides
lists of all the Hugo winners and even provides the nominees
back to 1980. Includes links to similar listings for the
Nebula and other awards.
- Locus
Online - Web version of the magazine that calls itself
"the newspaper of the science fiction field" and
is a major source of reviews in the genre. Includes some
articles and reviews taken from the magazine as well as
news in the field.
Series
Information
- Juvenile
Series and Sequels - Browse lists of series titles,
series subjects or author names or you can search titles
by key words. Provided by Mid-Continent Public Library.
|