| |


  
|
 |
 |
 |
| |
BIOGRAPHY
RESOURCES
General
- Biography
- Official site of A&E's Biography series. Covers over
20,000 personalities.
- Dead
People Server - You hear that someone famous may be
dead but you are not sure. How do you find out? This is
a good place to start, as it lists famous people that have
died and those that are commonly assumed to be or rumored
to be dead but aren't. Includes a "rumors" section.
- Distinguished
Women of Past and Present - Provides links to sites
with biographical information. There is an alphabetical
list by name and a subject index.
- Find
A Grave - Gives locations of the final resting sites
of famous people from around the world. Also some grave
records of non-famous people.
- Freeality
Biographies - Important People - Provides links to about
30 online biographical sources. For many of these it allows
you to enter a name and hit a search key to directly search
that site for information on the person in question.
- Who's
Alive and Who's Dead - This site has the same type of
information as the "Dead People Server" above.
Includes lists by occupation (actor, politician, etc), recent
deaths, and new additions among others.
Art
- Women
Artists in History
- Lists famous women artists alphabetically by century,
some of which are linked to sites with more information.
Includes a list of links to other resources on this subject.
Authors
- Catharton:
Authors
- A-Z directory of author resources. Provides links to web
sites.
- Voices
from the Gaps: Women Writers of Color - Created by the
Dept. of English and Program in American Studies of the
University of Minnesota. A typical entry includes a brief
quotation or excerpt, a photograph of the writer, a book
jacket cover, a biographical and critical essay, lists of
works by and about the author and links to related web sites.
Explorers
- Discoverers
Web
- Provides links to web sites containing information on
voyages of discovery and exploration. Sites are sorted by
time period for ancient times and then by country of origin
for later explorers. There is also a list by name, special
pages for the Vikings, Columbus and Cook, and some general
articles.
- Explorers
- An extensive web guide to sites relating to world explorers
through history. Includes general explorer sites as well
as sites by country and by explorer's name, as well as links
to a few general history resources.
Political
figures
- Biographical
Directory of the United States Congress
- Online version of the book source. Covers senators, representatives
and other officials from 1774 to present. Includes short
biography, locations of research collections of personal
papers and a bibliography.
- The
Political Graveyard - A database of historical cemeteries,
it lists the final resting place for over 32,000 political
figures.
- Portraits
of the Presidents and First Ladies - Compiled by the
Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress,
this site presents at least one likeness of each of the
41 presidents and for most of the first ladies.
- POTUS
- Presidents of the United States - Provides basic information
on each president, such as election results and lists of
cabinet members, as well as links to other sources such
as historic texts (including inaugural addresses) and full
biographies.
- British
Royalty and Nobility (FAQ's) - Questions and answers
concerning British royalty. Hyperlinks to additional information
sources are scattered throughout.
- Royal
and Noble Families of the World (FAQ's - excluding British)
- Same as above but for non-British royalty.
- Rulers
- Contains lists of heads of state and heads of government
of all countries and territories going back to 1800.
- Uncle
Sam: Biographical Resources of the U.S. Government -
Biographical information on prominent figures in the federal
government, such as cabinet members, Congressional leadership
and committee chairs, supreme court justices and heads of
selected agencies.
Science
and math
- Biographies
of Women Mathematicians - Detailed biographical essays,
most accompanied by pictures. References are also listed.
Compiled by students in mathematics classes at Agnes Scott
College, Atlanta, Georgia.
Miscellaneous
- List
of Popes
- Biographies of all the popes through history, provided
by the Catholic Encyclopedia.
- Saints
and Angels - A comprehensive index of saints, as well
as a list of patron saints, feast days and ethnic saints.
Allows a name search. Hosted and developed by Catholic Online
Internet Services.
|
| |
Page
updated last on Monday, March 10, 2008.

|
|
|
|
|